Faculty

picture of Damian BradyDr. Damian C. Brady

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Delaware, 2008

damian.brady@maine.edu
more info

Research Interests: Water quality modeling, individual-based modeling, behavioral ecology, and ecophysiology of fish.


Picture of Annette DeCharonAnnette deCharon

Senior Marine Outreach Education Scientist
Director, COSEE-OS
M.S. Oceanography, Oregon State University, 1988

annette.decharon@maine.edu
Broadening the Reach of Ocean Science

Research Interests: Education, Oceanography, Marine Policy


Dr. Heather LeslieHeather Leslie

Director, Darling Marine Center
Libra Associate Professor, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D. Oregon State University

heather.leslie@maine.edu
Leslie Lab Website

Research interests: coastal marine ecology; human-environment linkages, particularly those related to coastal areas; and the design and evaluation of marine management strategies.


Picture of Larry Mayer Dr. Larry Mayer

Agatha B. Darling Professor of Oceanography, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D. Dartmouth, 1976

lmayer@maine.edu
more info

Research interests: marine biogeochemistry, bioavailability of nutritional and toxic materials and implications for carbon and nutrient cycling.


Dr. Jeremy RichDr. Jeremy Rich

Assistant Professor of Marine Microbiology
Ph.D. Oregon State University

jeremy.rich@maine.edu
Rich Lab Website

Research interests: Microbial ecology with a focus on the global nitrogen cycle; sediment and water column biogeochemistry; anoxic/oxic gradients; hydrothermal vents; the Antarctic


Picture of Dr. Jeff RungeDr. Jeff Runge

Professor, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D. University of Washington

jeffrey.runge@maine.edumore info
more info

Research interests:  Biological-Physical Interactions, Fisheries Sciences, Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Biological Oceanography


Picture of Bob SteneckDr. Bob Steneck

Professor, School of Marine Sciences
Pew Fellow in Marine Conservation
Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1982

steneck@maine.edu
more info

Research interests: ecology, evolutionary biology, fisheries oceanography, plant-herbivore interactions


Picture of Rick WahleDr. Rick Wahle

Research Professor, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Maine, 1990

richard.wahle@maine.edu
Wahle Lab Website

Research Interests: benthic ecology, fisheries science


Picture of Rhian WallerDr. Rhian Waller

Associate Professor
Ph.D. Southampton Oceanography Center, UK, 2004

rhian.waller@maine.edu
Waller Lab Website

Research Interests: Invertebrate reproduction and larval development, deep-sea biology, cold-water corals, biogeography, larval dispersal and population connectivity


Emeriti, Affiliated, and Adjunct Faculty


Picture of Kevin EckelbargerDr. Kevin Eckelbarger

Professor Emeritus, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D. Northeastern University, 1974

kevine@maine.edu
more info

Research interests: reproductive and developmental biology of marine invertebrates; deep-sea biology


Picture of Lew InczeDr. Lewis Incze

Research Professor Emeritus, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D. University of Washington, 1983

lincze@maine.com
more info

Research interests: Marine ecology; coupling of physical and biological processes in marine population distributions and dynamics; biodiversity, conservation, and ecosystem functioning; ocean observing; climate change; ocean and marine resource management; science and society.


Pictreu of Pete JumarsDr. Pete Jumars

Professor Emeritus, School of Marine Sciences
Ph.D. Scripps Institution of Oceanography, 1974

jumars@maine.edu
more info

Research interests: Benthos, benthic oceanography, biological-physical interactions, bioacoustic


Picture of Warren RiessDr. Warren Riess

Research Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Marine Sciences and Department of History
Ph.D. University of New Hampshire, 1987

riess@maine.edu

Research interests: maritime history and archaeology


Picture of Les WatlingDr. Les Watling

Professor Emeritus, School of Marine Sciences
Pew Fellow in Marine Conservation
Ph.D. Delaware, 1974

watling@maine.edu

Research interests: benthic ecology, taxonomy