Grad Students

Graduate students based at the DMC are enrolled in the University of Maine’s School of Marine Sciences Graduate Program and are pursing a M.S. or Ph.D. in Marine Biology, Oceanography or Marine Policy.


Cheyenne AdamsCheyenne Adams
M.S. candidate, Marine Biology
Larry Mayer and Paul Rawson

cheyenne.adams@maine.edu

Research Interests: The role of detritus in the nutritional ecology of bivalves, biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling in coastal systems, and restoration ecology.


Katie CouplandKatie Coupland
Ph.D. candidate, Oceanography
Advisor: Damian Brady

catherine.coupland@maine.edu

Research interests: Biogeochemistry, estuarine modeling, coastal acidification, nutrient cycling, primary productivity


picture of MarinaMarina Cucuzza
M.S. candidate,  Dual Degree Program, Marine Biology & Marine Policy
Advisors: Dr. Heather Leslie and Dr. Josh Stoll

marina.cucuzza@maine.edu
More Information

Research interests: For my dual Masters in Marine Biology and Marine Policy at UMaine, I am interested in exploring the human and environmental dimensions of coastal sustainability.  My research focuses on resilience and management of Maine’s fishing communities in the face of ecological and social change.


Tyler Fountain
M.S. candidate,  Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Rhian Waller

c.tyler.fountain@gmail.com


picture of ParkerParker Gassett
M.S. candidate,  Dual Degree Program, Marine Biology & Marine Policy
Advisor: Dr. Aaron Strong

parker.gassett@maine.edu

Research Interests: Community scale involvement with environmental governance, coastal resilience, and science communication. Parker’s current work surrounds citizen science monitoring for coastal acidification in the Northeast.


Andrew Goode
M.S. candidate,  Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Damian Brady

Andrew.Goode@maine.edu


picture of CarlCarl Huntsberger
M.S. Candidate, Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Rick Wahle

carlton.huntsberger@maine.edu
More info

Research interests: to find an accurate way to determine a lobster’s age


Libby Gorse
Ph.D. candidate, Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Jeremy Rich

elizabeth.gorse@maine.edu


Julia Johnstone
Ph.D. candidate, Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Rhian Waller

juliawjohnstone1@gmail.com


Nicholas Keeney
Ph.D. candidate, Oceanography
Advisor: Dr. Damian Brady

nicholas.keeney@maine.edu


Maura Niemisto
M.S. candidate,  Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Rick Wahle

maura.niemisto@maine.edu


Kara Pellowe
Ph.D. candidate, Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Heather Leslie

kara.pellowe@maine.edu


Ashley Rossin
M.S. candidate,  Marine Biology
Advisor: Dr. Rhian Waller

amrossin5@gmail.com